Webcellence Ltd. – Detected by AVG, NOD32 and DrWeb

Hi there! If you’ve been following me for the last year you know that I’ve been examining many software publishers that put a digital signature on their downloads. A few days ago I found another publisher called Webcellence Ltd..

Webcellence Ltd. UAC prompt

To get more details on the publisher, you can view the certificate by right-clicking on the file, and looking under the Digital Signatures tab: According to the certificate we can see that Webcellence Ltd. is located in Moshav Ora, Israel and that the certificate is issued by VeriSign Class 3 Code Signing 2010 CA.

Webcellence Ltd. certificate - adobe_flash_player.exe

The reason I’m writing this blog post is that the Webcellence Ltd. file is detected by a few of the anti-virus progams at VirusTotal. DrWeb classifies adobe_flash_player.exe as Trojan.MulDrop5.38502 and ESET-NOD32 calls it a variant of Win32/InstallCore.QD.

Webcellence Ltd virus totalAlthough the file is named adobe_flash_player.exe it’s not the official download for the Adobe Flash Player. The real flash player installer should be digitally signed by the Adobe company.

Did you also find an Webcellence Ltd.? Do you remember the download link? Please post it in the comments below and I’ll upload it to VirusTotal to see if that one is also detected.

Thank you for reading.

6 thoughts on “Webcellence Ltd. – Detected by AVG, NOD32 and DrWeb

  1. is it safe to download from hxxp://google_talk.en.downloadastro.com/download/ website from the internet …..webcellence ltd publisher

    1. Hello Madhu, 4 of the anti-virus scanners detected the google_talk.exe file. Here’s the detection names:

      * AVG Generic.E3B
      * Avira ADWARE/InstallCore.Gen7
      * ESET-NOD32 a variant of Win32/InstallCore.PQ
      * VBA32 Malware-Cryptor.InstallCore.gen

  2. I found another URL for Webcellence while trying to figure out how to get my retarded BluRay player to actually play BluRays. I found a site that said KMPlayer could do it, but when i went to DL KMPlayer at “kmplayer.en.downloadastro.com”, Webcellence showed up as the download manager. Any more info on if this is even remotely trustworthy?

  3. this is a download I found trying to find out if ther’s a new version of facade I can download
    website : hxxp://facade.en.downloadastro. com/download/
    Direct download : hxxp://www.giftnewgift .com/GFsTSqeWtWwKMTjOqbvb5hUDmXtzfmP0_Eu3R2VcgH57S+b7yS+xILGNmEqvba4j61TcOsA619D2yn5jaxxW+6afzyqyCo0IaEslnxh6q90L1m_Xhu_UnFZuq4_C_wIQ0+Nr_ndQ8o3Fz+X2HsaqcmHeYkUwZw+JlLKhwvO+lI+XcEoDIbzjZz0FinCJJxOHQLZGw12mXSDHGs8Aa0fOR7L_mjuN0bWdRKxw6cLUIcmzbRnWT9eJd34xslfWuYMA7lihdxLHbsegxFFQxWLnruNROpK90wSeJKlBoB8_DQ1JM4v+bRRN9MvYZQ05g8e6enQOizJq0Fs7fUubgUpYXWNrzHcb8xOZjyI2lSypYHRTCMcc+yu8GPzmyKBSyKfOXWJV5yRP0t0UO5QobXhA1cnyEdKYtFkdJjuAzOS9VLaLqzqknYfjb33cKjGk_mGq7sS4hp1RTo5NVq95t9bHbX3LGVrxOKjJDrrj3ejL7wNA+ZxKdgzBekyTfwWeKK9i+IKIPLM7-G2oAAETd1prxhjRM8YhcefiF65xy4NCK6iD5he98qB0OP6wfnUhbEafx7OvkK5aS8ryPj9Lk_n3wh77LWgav2YRFgjIAi3ZoPU9cGIMA-e

  4. Hi i just downloaded the encarta encyclopedia installer and the editor is webcellence ltd

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.